Home > All news > The Kudos 2017 – award finalists announced

The Kudos 2017 – award finalists announced

Congratulations to all the finalists in the 2017 Kudos Awards. Through the winning formula of innovation, collaboration, passion and hard work they are already making a difference to science. We are looking forward to celebrating all their efforts and announcing the winners in September.

The finalists in the category for Medical Science, which is sponsored by Waikato District Health Board:

Kudos finalist Dr Amanda Oakley

Kudos finalist Dr Amanda Oakley

Dr Amanda Oakley, dermatologist, has developed the internationally respected DermNet website accessed by more than two million dermatologists, health professionals, students and patients worldwide. Dr Oakley is passionate about using the latest virtual and artificial intelligence technology to provide quicker, cheaper, and accurate diagnosis and management of skin conditions.


Kudos finalist Dr Jacquie Kidd

Kudos finalist Dr Jacquie Kidd

Dr Jacquie Kidd is focused on helping people to tell stories about their health and illness, and finding the personal meaning behind clinically important statistics. She believes in working in ways that include people from the researched communities as equal partners. Currently she is working on qualitative co-designed projects with Māori communities about improving the lives of people with prostate and lung cancer.



Kudos finalist Dr Jade Tamatea

Kudos finalist Dr Jade Tamatea

Dr Jade Tamatea is an emerging leader in endocrinology and thyroid disease in the Waikato region. Currently Jade is completing her PhD on the epidemiology of thyrotoxicosis among Māori in the Waikato DHB region and how patients’ journey to and through health services impact on patient outcomes. The findings will help to shape evidence-based healthcare services with a focus on equity.



WINTEC Secondary Science Teacher/Educator/Communicator Award
• Dr John Roche, DairyNZ
• Kerry Allen, St Paul’s Collegiate

Hill Laboratories Science Manager Award
• Dr Rupert Craggs, NIWA
• Dudley Bell, University of Waikato

Waikato Regional Council Environmental Science Award
• Dr Karin Bryan, University of Waikato
• Dr Andrew Swales, NIWA

Hamilton City Council Innovator/Entrepreneur Award
• Dermashield, Farm Medix
• Probiotics, BioBrew
• Herdscreen, Farm Medix

Waikato DHB Medical Science Award
• Dr Amanda Oakley
• Dr Jacquie Kidd
• Dr Jade Tamatea

Simcro Engineering Science Award
• TagIT Technologies
• Liquidstrip & Stainless Design
• James Neale, University of Waikato

Agricultural Science Award
• Pastoral 21 Research Team, AgResearch/DairyNZ
• BioBrew
• Farm Medix

University of Waikato Lifetime Achievement Award
Announced on the night

All will be revealed at The Kudos Awards Gala Dinner 28 September, Claudelands Event Centre.

Special Guest: Governor-General Dame Patsy Reddy
MC: Local Favourite, Te Radar

Buy tickets here

Print Friendly, PDF & Email