Home > All news > Waikato nurse wins emerging leader award

Waikato nurse wins emerging leader award

L-R Minister Peter Dunne, Shane Werner, DHB board member Clyde Wade and CEO Dr Nigel Murray

Waikato nurse Shane Werner is the first recipient of a new award for emerging health care leaders. Associate Health Minister Peter Dunne presented the award at Waikato DHB this morning.

The Open for leadership awards are coordinated by the Health Quality & Safety Commission. They recognise and celebrate health professionals who demonstrate excellent practice, quality improvement and leadership skills. They are part of the Commission’s work to build capability and leadership in the health sector.

Mr Dunne says Shane’s work exemplifies what is meant by an ‘emerging leader’.

“Shane started with Waikato DHB in 2013. He was chosen to receive this award because in his short time with the DHB he has shown great initiative and, as a reasonably junior nurse, influenced his team to create change.

“This includes his work investigating the pros and cons of nursing staff switching from single specialities to

Melody Mitchell nurse manager, Cheryl Atherfold associate director of nursing, Shane, Mr Dunne, Kate Yeo associate director of nursing

mixed specialities, which has had very positive results.

“He also created an admission and discharge tool, which I understand is great for both hospital staff and patients, ensuring their discharge goes smoothly and patients leave the hospital with everything they need.

“Shane’s ability to pull together a complex project and keep his peers enthused about change have demonstrated the best aspects of both leadership and quality improvement.”

Mr Dunne says Shane’s work is in line with the Government’s strong focus on supporting and enabling safe patient care, and saving lives.

“Recent nationwide successes include a reduction in falls resulting in broken hips, a reduction in CLAB – a blood stream infection, and a reduction in some surgical site infections. All these successes owe a lot to the work of our current and emerging leaders” said Mr Dunne.

Shane Werner was given a trophy by Minister Dunne and will be sponsored to attend a Commission event.

Shane was honoured to receive the award in front of fellow work colleagues, family, DHB CEO Dr Nigel Murray and board member Clyde Wade, stating: “Without my work colleagues this award wouldn’t be possible so I’d like to make special mention to Ward M7 Plastics, Burns, and Maxillofacial.”

“Our team works with an ever increasing number of patients, and as new healthcare challenges face us including an aging population and more complex needs, it’s important that we continue to look at new ways of doing things to accommodate positive change for our healthcare system and the continuation of good quality patient care.”

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
You may also like
Special delivery of premature twin simulators to NICU
Five Waikato SMOs awarded their Fellowship all at once!
Waikato Hospital enrolled nurse Leonie Metcalfe
Leonie Metcalfe enrolled nurse wins NZNO award
Dr Kelly Byrne, Anaesthesia research
Research explores post-operative pain relief options