Home > All news > Minister announces DHB Board appointments

Minister announces DHB Board appointments

Health Minister Jonathan Coleman has announced the appointed members of 19 DHBs, including seven new board chair appointments.

Bob Simcock has been reappointed as chair of Waikato DHB. Sally Webb, who is chair of Bay of Plenty DHB, has been appointed as deputy chair of Waikato DHB.

Board members Tanya Hodges and Sharon Mariu have been reappointed to the Board.

The full Waikato DHB board:

  • Bob Simcock – Chair
  • Martin Gallagher
  • Sally Webb – Deputy
  • Clyde Wade
  • Tania Hodges
  • Dave Macpherson
  • Sharon Mariu
  • Pippa Mahood
  • Crystal Beavis
  • Mary Anne Gill
  • Sally Christie

“DHBs are on the frontline delivering $12.2 billion in important health services to their local communities,” says Dr Coleman.

“Having the right people governing our DHBs is vital to ensuring New Zealanders around the country have access to the health services they need.

“The newly appointed DHB members and chairs have a wide range of skills and breadth of experience, and will make a valuable contribution.

“I would also like to take this opportunity to thank outgoing board members for their dedication and service.”

A total of 76 appointments have been made around the country, including 38 new appointments. Twelve chairs are continuing in their roles while seven boards have new chairs. A total of nine members have been cross-appointed.

“The Government is continuing its drive for greater regional collaboration in the planning and delivery of health services,” says Dr Coleman.

“Re-appointed Nelson Marlborough DHB chair Jenny Margery Black has been appointed chair of West Coast DHB.

“Similarly, Whanganui DHB chair Dot McKinnon has been re-appointed and also appointed chair of MidCentral DHB. Dr Lester Levy, who chairs Auckland and Waitemata DHBs, will also chair Counties Manukau DHB.

“Andrew Blair has been appointed chair of Capital & Coast DHB and Hutt Valley DHB.”

In Canterbury, Sir Mark Solomon is one of three new appointments to the board. Sir Mark, the outgoing chair of Ngai Tahu, has also been appointed deputy chair.

Former Associate Minister of Health, Dame Tariana Turia has been appointed a member of Whanganui DHB.

Four boards will be chaired by elected members – Northland, Hawke’s Bay, Nelson Marlborough and South Canterbury. Seven deputy chairs were also elected.

The new boards will start on Monday 5 December.

Southern DHB continues to have a Commissioner and Deputy Commissioner team in place to implement a financially sustainable plan to deliver quality health services.

Total DHB funding has increased by over $3.4 billion over the last eight years. Over 68,000 staff are employed by DHBs.


Print Friendly, PDF & Email
You may also like
Five Waikato SMOs awarded their Fellowship all at once!
Mental Health recovery advisor receives leadership award
Planned changes to go ahead for move to CBD
2018 Queen’s Birthday honours with Waikato DHB connections