Home > All news > Keeping Waikato in the best of health

Keeping Waikato in the best of health

Waikato District Health Board’s Best of Health Awards are back next year.

The awards event, which showcases excellence in health innovation and quality, started in 2003 and is open to Waikato DHB staff and all health service providers in the Waikato DHB region.

Since the first event, the awards were held in 2004, 2006 and 2008, and a total of 126 projects have been entered.

The Best of Health Awards are now back in a slightly different gala event format, to be held next in May 2012.

Best of Health Awards facilitator and Waikato DHB Quality and Risk System Support Sue Stretton, said the committee is pleased to be able to reintroduce a revitalised awards event to the health sector.

“After the 2008 event, we held a review and took some time to make the process more user friendly, provide a better product and better outcomes for health and patients,” she said.

”These awards are important for staff morale and the future quality of the health sector in the Waikato, so we’re pleased to be organising the fifth Best of Health Awards.”

Entries open this week and categories include innovation, process improvement, collaboration and patient outcome.

The judging panel will comprise Waikato DHB Quality and Risk representatives and Executive Group member, a previous winner, and a primary care representative.

Cash prizes of $1500 per category and an overall additional $3000 are up for grabs, which must be used for professional development / education within a year of the awards presentation.

All applicants will be invited to attend an awards presentation evening in The Atrium at Wintec on May 10 2012.

Entries close on Friday 16 December 2011.


General media enquiries
Mobile: 021 671 239
Email: news@waikatodhb.health.nz

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
You may also like
Project Energize picks up top prize at awards evening
Delivery and capacity planning at Waikato Hospital
Immunisation initiative wins Best of Health innovation award
Entries closed and counted for best of health awards